Write once, read never

I’m keeping my write once read never (hopefully) data on Amazon Web Services Glacier offering. All my old psts and archived documents, zipped up,  come to 6GB – costing me $0.05 per month. I shall also archive my photographs there.

With any luck I’ll never need it. But if the house burns down I’ll still have access to data I held locally by reaching back into the Amazon cloud.

The Synology NAS has a simple Glacier backup package. There’s also a free Windows client called FastGlacier.

My data philosophy is:

 

This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Write once, read never

  1. Pingback: How would I cope with data-napping? | Gra Machree

  2. Pingback: The clouds in my thinking over backups are clearing | Gra Machree

Leave a Reply

